the boy void.

12Apr10

Mother is always asking, “Dawn, have you met any interesting young black men lately?”  I haven’t.

The truth is, I’m very picky.  At Elon there are two types of black males: the Thuggish Asshole Athlete and the Theatrical Gay, the athletes being my least favorite.  You know them. The ones who make obscene passes at you around campus, always skip class, and only seem to care about playing football and grunting? Yeah, them.  On the other hand, I really have come to appreciate my theatrical gays.  With Elon’s theatre department constantly gaining national attention, the number of gay black males with talent on campus grows every year.  I adore their scarf collections and dainty singing voices.  The only issue is, we both like boys.

The boys at Street Etiquette, an NYC blog that brilliantly approaches urban style for men, compiled a list of 20 black style pioneers for GQ online in honor of Black History Month.  As I looked through, I found myself wishing all these men went to Elon.  They’re finely dressed, eccentric, and endlessly amusing.  Oh and look! The only known gays in this group are Marvin Gaye and Langston Hughes.

Still, all of these men are acceptable suitors. Next time Mother asks about the boy situation at school, I’ll direct her to this slideshow.

No Responses Yet to “the boy void.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

