it’s in the bag

21Feb10

A handbag is more than just leather, nylon, and straps–a handbag speaks miles about its wearer.  That’s why every time my style changes drastically, a new school year starts, or I move to a new city, I buy a new handbag.  Because beyond serving as a place to stash my personal goodies, the bag I carry also serves as a silent commentary on me as an individual.

I can’t go a day without seeing a fellow 20 something carrying Vera Bradley, Vineyard Vines, or Longchamp–bags that have become like a uniform for women under 30.  Though it is easy to fall back on these commonplace brands, I like to see the quest for a new handbag (as shallow as it

might sound) as a search for a bag that defines how I want passersby to see me at first glance.

Designers are always looking to create that one handbag every woman will lust over for the next

season or even a lifetime.  Remember Chanel’s 2.55, a bag that hasn’t changed its design since its 1955 debut? Or Hermès’ Birkin bag for which the wait list never stops short of 3 years?  These bags revitalized the female shoulder.  And any women seen carrying one instantly receives a certain amount of credibility from their peers.

This post marks the beginning of my quest for a bag that fits my ideals. I want a bag that represents the music I like, the film stars I admire, the genre of literature I prefer.  I also want this bag to be simple but loud, a sort of understated elegance.  There’s something to be said about showing you’re sexy and saying you’re sexy.  Like the difference between Anne Hathaway and Kim Kardashian.  Wish me luck!

No Responses Yet to “it’s in the bag”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

